ISC-PIF Committees

The institute is administered by a Board of Governors, and headed by a director, who is assisted by a Steering Committee and advised by a Scientific Board. The assembly of scientists involved in these committees is the ISC-PIF’s first achievement. They represent a panel of internationally reputed researchers who meet the requirements of the interdisciplinary science of complex systems.

Scientific Board

Its mission is to advise the Director and the Steering Committee in their scientific actions. With the kind participation of the international researchers who form the Scientific Board, the Institute’s scientific policy is constantly refocused on the most relevant and contemporary issues in the complex systems community.

Members of the Scientific Board:

President: Sheung Tsun Tsou- Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford, UK

  • Jacques Demongeot- Director of the TIMC-IMAG laboratory, Université de Grenoble, France
  • Mirta Gordon- TIMC-IMAG laboratory, Université de Grenoble, France
  • Peter Grassberger- John von Neumann Institute for Computing Forschungszentrum, Complex systems research group, Germany
  • Jürgen Jost- Director of the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences, Leipzig, Germany
  • Frank Jülicher- Director of the Biophysics department, Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden, Germany
  • Etienne Pardoux- Université de Provence, France
  • Gene Stanley- Boston University, USA
  • Mina Teicher- Bar-Ilan University, Israel
  • Sander van der Leeuw- Director of the Department of Anthropology, Arizona State University, USA
  • Eric Wieschaus- Department of Molecular Biology, Princeton University, USA

Steering Committee

Director of the institute:
  • David Chavalarias (CAMS, School for Advanced Studies in Social Sciences EHESS and CNRS)

Former Directors:
  • Arnaud Banos (2011-2012) (Géographie-Cités, CNRS and Université Paris 1)
  • René Doursat (2009-2010) (CREA, Ecole Polytechnique and CNRS)
  • Paul Bourgine (CREA, Ecole Polytechnique and CNRS) (2005-2009), Founder of ISC-PIF

The director and co-directors of the institute are appointed by the Board of Governors. They are assisted by the Steering Committee, whose members are also appointed by the Board of Governors upon recommendation from the Director.

Members of the Steering Committee:

Directors of the ISC-PIF "branches":

  • CEA: Francois Daviaud (IRAMIS, SPEC)
  • CNRS Gif: Nadine Peyriéras (DEPSN, Institut de Neurobiologie Alfred Fessard)
  • ENS Ulm: Michael Ghil (CERES-ERTI)
  • UPMC: Jean-Daniel Zucker (UMMISCO-IRD)

>> Steering Committee home page

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is composed of representatives of each contributing partner institution.

President: Elisabeth Giacobino

Role of the Board of Governors: The Board appoints and dismisses the director of the GIS (Grouping of Scientific Interest – namely, the Institute), appoints members of the Steering Committee upon proposal by the Director of the GIS, appoints members of the Scientific Board on the proposal of Director of the GIS, and adopts the activity program of the GIS on the proposal of the Director of the GIS; votes the estimates of the GIS’s revenues and expenditures which include, first, the likely costs and second, the corresponding resources, detailed by funding agency; adopts the Director’s annual financial and scientific activity report; decides on any amendments to the present Convention, which are stated in riders; votes on the entry of new partners to the GIS; and provides procedures for evaluating the results of the GIS’s activities before any decision on its possible renewal.

Contributors to this page: David Chavalarias , webmaster , Marlene-Etienne and Rene Doursat .
Page last modified on Saturday 15 February, 2014 12:20:58 by David Chavalarias.